The Importance of Silence

I had a moment of startling clarity this past Saturday morning. I realized I hadn’t really experienced silence in a long while. I realized that I constantly have some music or podcast streaming information into my ears at nearly all times. I am constantly reading, absorbing, but never processing.

So many times in the gospel accounts we hear about Jesus going off by himself to pray, usually right before being interrupted. Think about the passage where Jesus calms the sea, brings order from the chaos: “Peace. Be still.”

But, if you haven’t this week, take your silence now. Turn off the radio, headphones, computer screen. Just sit, or stand. Experience the silence. My articles are about 3-5 minutes long… so take the remaining 3 and just be.

Leave a Reply

